Jam Jam Sleepwear Collection by Love Notions

dsc00994I admit that I have had this pattern for quite some time now and am just getting around to sewing it up.  For some reason it is hard for me to use cute fabric on pj’s.  However, a few weeks ago my girls saw a very cute Pikachu print they had to have.  It was a thin poly knit that was a bit too see through for every day wear…especially for bottoms.  PJ’s were the perfect project for them!

The Jam Jam Sleepwear Collection includes a short sleeve top and choice of either shorts or capri length pants.  I made one of each pant length.  Sizing runs from 2t-14.  I made sizes 5t and 10 for my girls.

Printing the pattern was very easy.  This pattern features the layers option so you can print only the size you need.  There is also a great printing chart so you know which pages you need to print for your size and view.  I had both sizes printed and glued together in no time.

The pattern does not use very much fabric, which is always a plus in my book.  I was able to get both bottoms from 1 yard of the Pikachu print and both tops from 1 yard of yellow knit with plenty of left overs.  I will note that the back yoke does come to the front of the top.  So if you use a directional print like I did it will be upside down on the front!  Ooops!  Luckily the girls didn’t seem to mind too much.

The top fits the girls great.  The back is gathered at the yoke for plenty of wearing ease.  There is also gathering on the front at shoulder for even more ease.  I did find the rise in the pants to be a bit shorter than I expected.  I think this might be due more to the fact that my kids seem to pull up their pants to their natural waist.  Other than that there is nothing I would change.

For the front of the tees I hand drew the faces onto Heat ‘n Bond Lite.  I fused it to the back of some quilting cotton scraps and ironed them onto the front of the tee.  I used a tearaway stabilizer on the back and appliqued them onto the tee with a zig zag stitch on my regular machine.

I admit that sewing pj’s is a tough task for me, as I mentioned before I really hate using cute fabrics on them.  I am however so pleased with how these turned out and my girls love them.  I definitely think there will be more of these in our future.

I purchased the solid cotton lycra knits from Purple Seamstress.  The Pikachu knit was purchased from Print Knit Studios.  You can find the Jam Jam Sleepwear Collection here on the Love Notions website.

 

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom clothing for me and my family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

