Preparing For Fall

DSC00928Even though we don’t get very cool here in Florida, it is hard not to want to sew up some cozy clothing as September rolls around.  Today I worked with two patterns by Sofilantes to create a cute ensemble.

The tunic is the Nivalis pattern.  I used the plain bodice option, 3/4 length sleeves and the tunic length.  The fabric is a lovely cotton lycra print from Print Knit Studios.  I love how quick this tunic worked up.  Everything printed out easily and all the pattern pieces matched up perfectly.  I love that the hem is trued on the pattern, this is not usually the case with pdf designs!

DSC00927The pants are the Domi Sweat Pants pattern.  I used the full length option with no pockets.  I added cute little heart shaped patches at her knees.  To place the patches I sewed up the side leg seams and the crotch seams but left the inseam unsewn.  I put the waist band on the pants and had my daughter try them on.  I was able to mark exactly where her knee caps would be this way and still have the pants open enough to applique the hearts on!.  I did not use an embroidery machine for the patches.  I simply drew a heart shape and traced that shape onto Heat ‘n Bond Lite.  I then ironed that to the back of a scrap of the light pink velour.  Once it cooled I cut out the heart shape, peeled the back off and fused them onto the knees of the pants.  I pressed from the back of the pants as not to damage the velour!  I then placed a tear away stabilizer on the back of the design and used an zig zag stitch on my machine to go around the edges of the heart.  I know that every machine is different, but my preferred stitch width for applique is 3.0 and stitch lenght 0.8.  Once I went around both hearts I removed the excess stabilizer and completed the pants.  The hot pink velour is also from Print Knit Studio.

There you have it, two great patterns by one great designer for the perfect fall ensemble!

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preparing For Fall

  1. she’s just sooo cute in this outfit!!! (as always)

Leave a Reply

