Who gets the butterflies?

DSC00901I had one yard of a really cute burn-out butterfly knit from Print Knit Studio that both girls staked a claim on.  They both had very different ideas but most important was that they not match!  They both helped with the fabric and pattern selections.  I think they did a great job!  So let’s look at what they picked out.

First up are the tops.  Both of the tops are made from the Tessa Swing Tank by Funktional Threads.  This little tank is a great wardrobe staple for my girls.  The pattern only cost $1 and goes up to size 16.  Such a great bargain.  My oldest daughter is wearing a size 10 Tessa with no alterations.  She is very slender and I did not take in the tank, despite that we aren’t having issues with gaping armholes or the straps falling off her shoulders like we usually do.  She really enjoys this style and finds it very comfortable.  DSC00899My youngest is wearing an altered Tessa.  She does not care for the high-low hem style and wanting something a little more slim.  To do this all I did was to continue the straight side down instead of flaring out at the waist.  Then I lined up the front and back at the armscye edge and simply cut it off at the bottom straight across at the highest point on the front piece.  I really like the was this fits her.  It is not snug or baggy.  Just the right fit.
When you print out the Tessa Tank it is layed out so nicely, especially for a pattern with so many sizes included.  The layers feature is not used for this pattern, but I had no difficulty finding my lines to cut out the tops.  I print in black and white.  The pattern pieces line up perfectly.  The neckbands are a great length and width as well.  They weren’t overly stretched and lay flat after being sewn in and coverstitched down.  I can’t recommend this pattern enough.

DSC00895The skirt and pants are both patterns by Sofilantjes.  The Domi Sweat Pants and the Liv Skirt are both long time favorites of ours.  The Liv Skirt is actually a free pattern in the Sofilantjes facebook group.  There are very few pattern pieces to this cute little skirt.  Easy to print and put together.  It doesn’t require elastic and uses very little fabric.  I like to add shorts under the Liv skirt to make a a skort.  I posted a tutorial on the process here.  It is the perfect pattern for small cuts of fabric or using up scraps.  My oldest daughter doesn’t care for skirts anymore.  I was so glad when the Domi Sweat Pants pattern came out since it had the same pockets on the front.  Many times I have still been able to coordinate the girls somewhat with one in shorts and one in a skirt!  There are 3 lengths to the Domis (shorts, 3/4, and full length).  The shorts are just about knee length which is perfect for my long legged daughter.  The 3/4 and full length both include cuffs.  This is the first time we have tried the 3/4 length and it just might be her favorite.  She says they are so comfortable and already has requested another pair!

For both these fun outfits I only used 1 yard of the butterfly burnout, less than 1 yard of the purple (the shorts under the Liv skirt are also made from the purple) and a fat half of the pastel stripes.  All the fabrics were from Print Knit Studio.  You can find out more information in their facebook group.

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who gets the butterflies?

  1. You’ve done a great job on these outfits and made me buy the tank top pattern 🙂

Leave a Reply

