The Emily Flounce Dress by Funktional Threads

DSC00888The Emily Flounce Dress is an adorable knit dress pattern with tons of options.  There are two different skirt styles (asymetrical or hi-low), a regular and slim fit and 4 different neckline variations (ruffle, plain, flutter sleeve, or double layer flutter sleeve).  You can also mix up the flouce layers on the skirt.  You can just sew the bottom layer for a simple dress, use all three or any combination in between.

This dress is View B the asymetrical hemline.  I sewed a slim size 6 for my almost 6 year old.  I used all three layers of the flounce skirt and used the regular neck flounce ruffle.  I have also made View A with the hi-low hemline for both my girls several years ago.  Both styles have been a big hit in our house!

DSC00889I really love how easy this dress goes together.  It is one of those outfits with a big wow factor that looks much more complicated than it really is.  I love that it has the slim option so I don’t have to adjust the pattern for my thin daughters.  I love how the pattern is pieced together.  This pattern is not one you have to lay out on your kitchen floor and piece together in one huge sheet.  You can sit at a normal table and put the pieces together as you go along.  There are no layers for this pattern.  I print in black and white and had no problem tracing off the size I needed.  There is a printing guide that allows you to only print the pages you need for each option.  Finally, I love how easy this dress wears.

The fabric I used for this dress was purchased from Print Knit Studios.  Both prints were a nice medium weight cotton lycra knit.  Even though both had red, neither print ran or bled in the wash.  I would highly recommend this two prints.

The embroidery design was not done with an embroidery machine.  I simply traced a picture from a coloring book and hand pieced the applique.  It was sewn with a zig zag stitch on my regular sewing machine.

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom clothing for me and my family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

