Nivalis Dress by Sofilantjes

Sofilantjes has done it yet again!  Just released is her new pattern titled Nivalis.  Nivalis is a very sweet tunic and dress with 3 collar options.  You can chose a regular neckband, a fold down collar or a hood.  The sleeves lengths include cap, 3/4 and long sleeve.  The size range is from 12m all the way through 14yr.  For the next two days you can get the pattern for only $5 to celebrate it’s release.  The regular price of the pattern will be $8.95.DSC00545

For my dress I chose to use the regular neckband, long sleeves, and the dress length.  My daughter wears a size 5 and fits the pattern sizing exactly for this size.  I made no alterations to the pattern at all, sewing it exactly as the pattern called for.

To start, I opened the pattern in Adobe and only selected the size I was printing, which was size 5.  This hid all the other layers so I was able to save both my ink and my eyes!  My pattern pieces fit together easily and I was able to print only the pieces I needed by following the included printing guide.  For my dress there were very few pieces needed.  A dress front, back, sleeve, neckband and the side tabs.  I was able to get my pattern pieces cut quickly and was ready to sew in no time.DSC00546

The pattern uses clear vector diagrams to help explain the steps in the pattern.  This is personally my preferred illustration method over real photos.  I just find them much clearer.  The pattern directions are available in both English and Dutch.  I was able to have my dress together very quickly.

I found the fit to be good.  The length of both the sleeves and the bottom hem hit where I would expect them too.  The dress hits right at the top of her knees.  The body of the dress from the waist up is fitted, so if your child is in between sizes for the chest or waist I would either size up or grade out.DSC00549

I really like the way this dress turned out.  It is a very classic style that is perfect to showcase a busy print.  With the side tabs and clean lines you could also easily dress this up with solid colors for a more formal dress as well.  Even my oldest daughter has requested one, but in a solid color, to wear over her leggings.  I definitely plan on sewing up another Nivalis soon.  I can’t wait to try the fold over collar next!

The Nivalis pattern is available at the Sofilantjes website.  Take a look around and check out her other lovely patterns while you are there!

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nivalis Dress by Sofilantjes

  1. Momusewsilly says:

    What a lovely pattern, your fabric choice is great! looks like a fun article of clothing, thanks for the in depth talk through and explanations about this new pattern.

Leave a Reply

