5 Out of 4 Women’s and Kid’s Pullovers

DSC00506Today I am excited to review 2 patterns that are both available for a discount today and throughout the weekend.  The Women’s Ascent Pullover and the Kid’s K2 Pullover are such great staples for anyone’s winter wardrobe.

Both patterns are similar in the basic principle but each one includes a unique color blocking option.  They also include optional hidden zipper pockets and the women’s version includes a nursing modification.  I was a tester for both patterns but I am not a paid affiliate.

DSC00420For both patterns I chose to sew the solid option.  Because of that I am going to review the basic processes together since they were the same.  I made a total of 4 pullovers this past month.  2 for me and one for each daughter!  One of my favorite things about this patern is how little fabric you need.  For my youngest daughter’s size 5 I only needed 2/3 yd of fleece.  With all the sales on fleece this month it made it a very inexpensive top!  My size S only required 1 1/2 yds of fabric.  The only additional notion you will need is a zipper.  I used a 9″ zipper for all 4.  However, before the release of the pattern the smaller sizes of the kids version was changed to a 7″ opening.  So, my zipper might extend futher than yours would when making a size 5 or smaller.

DSC00502Printing the patterns is a breeze with the provided cutting charts to only print the pages you need.  The layers function is also available to only print the size you need as well.  The pages fit together easily with no trim edges.  I grabbed my glue stick and was ready to cut out my fabric pieces in no  time!  There are only 4 pattern pieces required if doing the solid version.  A front, back, sleeve and collar.  There are also measurements for cutting out a rectangular facing piece that is sewn around the zipper.  The front of the pulloever is cut on the fold.  I really like this, since it eliminates the need to pattern match on the front of the top!  All my pattern pieces fit easily onto my fabric and was cut out in no time.

DSC00504The directions are nicely written and each step is depicted with a clear photo.  This type of zipper insertion was sort of new to me, but I had no problems sewing it in with the aid of the directions.  It is highly recommended in the directions to use seam tape on the collar and zipper area.  I did for my first two and it helped immensely!  By the 3rd one I felt comfortable enough to just pin.  Each time I make one of these the process takes less time.

To say we love these tops is truly the understatement of the year.  Living in New England we are always on the lookout for warm clothing we can layer.  These fit the bill.  The fit it comfortable with out being baggy.  In each one of these photos we are wearing long sleeve knit tops under them with ease.  These also fit easily under our winter coats.  I plan on picking up more fleece tomorrow in the Black Friday Sales to make us all at least 1 more!

Right now you can use the code “BLACKFRIDAY2015″ today for 40% off any 5 Out of 4 patterns!  Saturday through Monday the code will get you 30% off your total pattern purchases.  So hurry and grab your patterns and go buy some fleece and spend the holiday weekend sewing everyone in the family a new pullover.

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom clothing for me and my family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

