Kenzie’s Holiday Dress Tour

DSC00480Greetings and welcom to the 3rd stop on the Kenzie’s Holiday Dress Tour.  The Kenzie’s Party Dress is a wonderful pattern by EYMM.  There are several sweet options to this pattern.  Perfect for any special occasion.  I have chosen to sew the simple skirt version of the dress for my 5 year old in a size 5.  I used some Christmas coordinates that had been in my cabinet for a long time…probably older than my daughter!

The Kenzie dress comes in two bundles.  You can either purchase the infant through 4t sizes or the 5t through 18.  There is also a bundle option to have the entire size range!  This could be the only special occasion dress pattern you ever buy.  There are two skirt options for this pattern.  There is the simple skirt version that I used and a layered option which is very cute.  Since my daughter picked out this fabric, I was limited to 1 yard for the skirt…or I would have gone for the layered one for sure!  The bodice has an option for a ruffle cap sleeve.  Perfect for wearing to events where sleeveless is not appropriate.  It has a lower scooped back and closes with buttons.  There are also directions to make this just a high waisted skirt with no bodice…which my oldest daughter has requested for her holiday attire this year!  The last option of the pattern is the gathered sash.  I opted to leave this off of my dress.  My daughter will not wear a dress that ties in the back because it bothers her when she sits.  I really like the look the sash gives, so I hope to experiment with sewing it to the bodice without the ties in the future.

DSC00473The pattern pieces for this dress are minimal.  I only needed 6 pages!  There is a cutting chart for the simple skirt, skirt waistband and sashes.  The bodice, cap sleeve, and layered skirt pieces are the only pieces to print.  If you are making the simple high waisted skirt you won’t need to print anything!  The pattern pieces printed easily and fit together perfectly.  The pages are no trim but the layers option is not available.  I still had no problem finding my size and cutting it out even using a black and white printer.

The pattern goes together very quickly.  The only area that might be new to some is the back opening of the skirt.  You will use a small piece of bias binding over the edges.  You also will need to be comfortable with creating button holes.

DSC00474I am very happy with my daughter’s new holiday dress!  The fullness of the skirt was perfect for wearing her pettiskirt underneath…which is a priority with this kid!  I really enjoyed working with this pattern.  I appreciate its simplicity as this will allow for many modifications in the future.  I can’t wait to make it again with special occasion fabric and to try the layered skirt.  If you have been looking for a special occasion dress that can grow with your child and has several options, look no further!

Now through Nov 21st (midnight PST)  use code HOLIDAYDRESS2015 to save 50% off Kenzie’s Party Dress in either size range (nb-4t or 5-18tween) or on Kenzie’s Party Dress Ultimate Bundle (nb-18tween + 18″ doll size).   Hurry and don’t miss out on this great deal!

 

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kenzie’s Holiday Dress Tour

  1. Pingback: Kenzie’s Holiday Dress Tour: Day 3 | Everything Your Mama Made & More

Leave a Reply

