Modkid Charlotte Dress

DSC00396Modkid patterns have always been a favorite of mine.  I think it is a combination of a style I enjoy and the fact that Patty Young’s patterns are always just so nicely drafted.  I never pass up an opportunity to test a Modkid pattern.

The newest pattern in the Modkid collection is the Charlotte.  The Charlotte has 4 options.  A flutter sleeve, short sleeve and long sleeve dress or a jacket!  The long sleeve option has a cute button cuff.  The dresses have waist ties and the jacket has a nice belt that buttons in the back.  The pattern calls for woven fabric.  There are lots of buttons on this dress.  So if making button holes and sewing buttons is something you shy away from this might not be the pattern for you.  (Even though button holes are not as bad as most people tend to think!)

DSC00399My dress is a size 5t view C.  My daughter is 43 1/2″ tall right now.  She is a little thinner than the pattern’s measurements but the dress still works well on her.  I did not make any deviations from the pattern for this dress.  I used a fine wale corduroy for everything but the bodice lining.  For that I used a basic quilting cotton.

Printing the pattern was very easy.  Modkid patterns are not laid out like most other pdf patterns.  You will not need to clear your entire family room floor to assemble a huge piece of paper.  You will piece the bodice, then the sleeves and then the other pieces are all on their own sheet.  There are no layers for this pattern.  I print in black and white and was still able to easily differentiate between the sizes for the pattern pieces and markings.  There are no pattern pieces for the skirts, ruffles and ties.  Measurements are given in a chart.

DSC00404I used about a yard each of my fabrics (the lining used some left overs from another project).  I was able to cut out all the pieces and interfacing with ease.

The pattern uses clear diagrams throughout to illustrate each step.  I was able to sew the dress just by the diagrams alone for the most part.  Just a few areas I needed to read through for measurements.  I was initially concerned that the button cuffs would be challenging, but it turns out her method of sewing them was quite simple.

Overall, I am very pleased with how this dress sewed up.  It is going to make a great dress to wear this winter.  I am glad to have a long sleeve pattern I can use with woven fabric and the button cuff is something I have not seen often.  This pattern also has a very cute jacket option.  That might be my next project as the tester photos of the jacket looked fabulous!

For the next 24 hours you can get the Charlotte pattern for an introductory price of $5.99!  Hurry and get your copy today 🙂

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

