EYMM Hoodie Blog Tour

 

 

DSC00382Here in Massachusetts fall is already making its appearance.  Leaves are turning orange and yellow.  The mornings are cool and foggy and the sun is setting earlier and earlier each evening.  Living so far north there is one staple in my wardrobe that I just can not avoid…the hoodie.  Whether I am throwing it on in the morning to run the kids to school, layering it under my coat for extra warmth or even just laying it in the front seat of my car for those suddenly cool softball games…I just can’t live without a hoodie!

The EYMM His and Hers Hoodie is a great addition to my collection.  The asymmetrical zipper across the front is a truly unique look not found in any of my store bought or hand sewn jackets.  Just as a subtle warning, this pattern is not for the faint of heart!  I can honestly say that even with the amount of sewing that I have done, this pattern took a lot of time and rereading to get through it.  I highly recommend reading this pattern several times before you cut your fabric or sew a stitch.  This will help you out in the long run significantly!DSC00379

The pattern contains a lot of pages due to the unique shape of the pattern pieces.  For this size small it required around 50 pages of paper.  For the plus sizes you can expect a few more.  The layers option is available to allow you to only print the size you need.  This is a huge help when printing in black and white as I do.  The pattern pages are trimless, so you can get your glue stick out and go right to town adhering the pages together.  The pages are quite large so you will want to find a large spot on the floor to begin.  Now, for me the most important part of the directions is right here…you must follow her cutting layout exactly for this pattern to work!  Not only is the tight fit, you also need to have the pieces lying the right direction for the right side of your fabric to show on your final jacket!  I opened my pattern up on my tablet and kept it right by my side while cutting the pattern and checked it twice before cutting.  The fabric allowance is pretty spot on as I was only left with scraps after cutting.

DSC00380Now to the sewing.  This jacket is so different from any other jacket I have sewn.  Because of this her steps are not what you are used to.  It was really hard for me to resist not doing things my way…but trust me you want to do things her way!  Again, I kept my tablet at my side for each step.  Her diagrams are helpful in construction.  The most difficult part for me was sewing the lining around the waistband, but another blogger on the tour has kindly taken videos of this step and others to help make them more clear.

The fabric I used for my jacket is a textured knit from Joann’s.  The lining is med weight cotton lycra from Purple Seamstress.  If I were to make this jacket again I would definitely go for a more stable knit.  I think the zipper would lay flatter that way.  Using a lycra or ribbed knit for the cuffs and waist band are a must!  Don’t be tempted to cut self fabric bands on this one…it needs to stretch!

DSC00383Over all, I am pleased with my hoodie and know I will get good use out of it here in New England this fall.  This pattern is definitely not for beginners.  But if you have been sewing awhile and made a few regular jackets I encourage you to try this one out.  It will be a great addition to your wardrobe!

I will be giving away one free copy of this pattern to a lucky viewer of my blog.  Winner will be picked by raffle copter.  Be sure to leave your email address in the comments!  Also check out the other great hoodies on the blog tour and find other changes to win some great prizes!

2015-hoodie-tourweb

Make sure to visit the other stops on the tour to see more versions and hoodie inspiration!  Many are giving away a copy of the pattern! (Psst … check out the awesome savings listed after the tour links!)

*NOTE* The links below won’t show the tour posts until 7am PST on their day of the tour, BUT you are welcome to click through and check their blogs out at any time.

9/25

Blessed X Five and Capture, Craft, and Cook

9/26

The Wholesome Mama and EYMM

9/27

Rebel & Malice and Manning the Machine

9/28

Welcome to Our Crazy World and Connected by a Thread

9/29

Pretty & Precious Clothing and Boutique Birdie

Hop over to the EYMM shop and use code FALLHOODIES2015 to save 50% on either hoodie pattern! Coupon is good for Zander’s Hoodie & Hooded Vest (newborn-18tween) or His & Hers Hoodie & Hooded Vest (adult XS-5XL) and expires 11:59pm PST on Sept. 29.

*NOTE* These two patterns are INTERMEDIATE TO ADVANCED sewing level, as they include zipper installation and some unique assembly techniques.

 

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to EYMM Hoodie Blog Tour

  1. Marrietta says:

    I’m hoping the email in the comments is good enough 🙂 love your honesty about how this pattern might be a challenge we don’t have much use for it in Hawaii but I want to make one just to test my skills and add to my tool box!!

  2. Sarah says:

    Zippers make me so nervous but I know I just need to get over it because this pattern looks like it turns out such great results!
    sarahestanford [at] gmail [dot] com

  3. Pingback: EYMM Hoodie Blog Tour | Manning The Machine

Leave a Reply

