Boyfriend Cardigan by Love Notions

The leaves are already turning up here in Massachusetts.  Seems much too soon for fall, but mornings are already calling for sweaters.  Tami at Love Notions never disappoints!  The new Boyfriend Cardigan, available in both women’s and children’s sizes is a must have pattern for this fall.

DSC00277I tested the children’s version in a size 10 for my 55″ tall daughter who is solidly in the size 10 range at most retail stores.  We chose the hooded version of the sweater.  There is also a shawl collar option as well.  The fabric was a funky textured knit from Joann’s.

As always with Love Notions, printing the pattern was a breeze.  The pages were trimless and fit together with ease.  This had more pages than your typical pattern for two reasons…1.  The sweater is made to hit you right around mid thigh…so naturally you will have bigger pattern pieces  and 2.  because the sleeves are not cut on a fold, they have a distinct front and back side.  The layers option is available and make cutting so easy on the eyes.  Just one line to follow on those curves!

DSC00271Once I had my pattern pieces cut it was time to cut my fabric.  I encourage you to play around with placing your pieces before you start to cut.  I was able to fit my front, back and sleeve pieces next to each other across my 56″ wide fabric by turning the back piece upside down and slightly lowering it.  It saved a lot of fabric this way….which is good when you are choosing some of the more expensive winter fabrics.  I used 1 1/4″ of fabric for this size 10.

I read the directions several times before starting my sewing…which is pretty common practice for me.  I really liked how she has you hem the sweater.  The directions are very thorough as are the pictures.  This is especially true in the treatment of the side vents.  I know a lot of designers now are not treating vents and corners with care in their patterns.  This was a nice additions to see.  Especially since you will frequently see the inside front of the cardigan as it is worn.

As I mentioned before, this is the children’s size 10.  My daughter fits right into that size range on her sizing chart at 55″ tall.  I made no alterations to this pattern, sewing it completely as is.  I found the sleeve length and overall length spot on.

From start to finish this was a very quick project for me.  There are no closures to the front of the cardigan, which is great for beginners!  Also cuts down on material costs.  I can’t wait to sew my own cardigan next!

Now through Saturday you can get both the women’s and children’s version on sale with the discount code ‘sewallthecardigans’ for 20% off.  If you purchase both patterns her tiered pricing kicks in and you save even more!    So hurry and pick up your patterns today and start sewing for fall 🙂

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

