Back to School Sewing

Both my blog and sewing machines have been pretty quiet this summer.  We have been enjoying the very, very short summer we have up here in New England.  Already the leaves are turning yellow and we have noticed the AC just doesn’t need to kick on anymore at night since the temperatures are quickly dropping.  Today was the first big event of fall for our family…the first day of school!

DSC00256My youngest is heading to Kindergarten.  To celebrate this occasion she insisted on picking out her own back to school outfit.  She went through clothes she already has and I helped her look online to build her very own special outfit.  Her favorite tee shirt pattern right now is the Cartwheel Tee by Love Notions.  This pattern is just perfect for both my girls and is the one I probably reach for the most right now.  The pattern goes together quickly and fits them very well.  The skirt she chose was the Preppy Skort by Scientific Seamstress.  This is one of the first pdf patterns I ever owned.  It seems no matter how many new skirt patterns I buy, I always seem to come right back to this one.  I used the frill skirt option and eliminated the lining.  Instead of trying to hem a circle I just added a 2″ ruffle around the edges.  This has little shorts under the skirt .

DSC00251Now last year my oldest daughter didn’t want ANYTHING made for her first day of school.  She wanted “normal” clothes.  I wasn’t even planning on making her anything until she asked me after seeing her sister’s clothes.  I had her pick out her embroidery design and was planning on using a plain tee shirt pattern.  But after she chose her design, I just knew she needed a Wrigley Tee by Love Notions!  I had been a tester for this pattern in my youngest daughter’s size but I had never gotten around to making one for my oldest.  She really loves this style and the longer length.

Now that school has officially begun, bring on the fall sewing! 🙂DSC00252

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom clothing for me and my family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

