Domi Sweat Pants by Sofilantes

I was so excited to see this pattern come to life.  I have been struggling to find just some basic knit shorts for my girls this summer.  I didn’t want ruffles or puffy legs…just regular shorts that covered their rear ends!  These shorts definitely fit the bill.  And what a bonus for those who have children of both genders as it looks great on both!DSC00032

The Domi Sweat Pants by Sofilantjes is full of great options.  The pattern is for sizes 12m to 14yr and is unisex.  There are three different length options to chose from.  There are the full length pants, 3/4 or capri length, and shorts.  There are also two different pocket options.  Something for every season!

I was a tester for this pattern for my oldest daughter’s size.  She is tall and thin and these shorts still fit her great.  The only adjustment I made was to cut the elastic to her waist size instead of what the pattern called for.  She is nearly 10 and starting to get pretty picky about clothes but she really loves these shorts and has requested another pair!  She is wearing the size 9 shorts.

Since the first pair turned out so well my youngest daughter got to join in on the fun.  Hers also came out great and fit her just as well.  I made no adjustments to her shorts either, with the exception of cutting the elastic to fit her waist instead of the chart in the pattern.  She is wearing the size 5 shorts.

The pattern prints out with ease and fits together easily.  It utilizes the layering options so you will only need to print the size you want.  I print in black and white ink and had no difficulties following the lines for my sizes.DSC00035

There are very few pieces to the pattern and it uses little fabric, even for the size 9.  All the pieces have pattern pieces to print except for the pocket bindings, which are located in an easy to follow chart.

Sewing the shorts is very straight forward.  If you have made pants before you will have no difficulties.  I was able to whip these up in no time.

I chose the sizes for my girls by using their measurements on the size charts and they fit just great.  I feel this pattern runs true to size if you heed the measurements.

DSC00034Overall, I couldn’t be more happy to add this pattern to my library.  This will surely become a summer staple for us and I am sure we will be adding to this review in the fall when we start preparing for the cooler weather with the full pants version.

Right now for a short time you can get this pattern for only $5!  After that you will be able to get it or any of Sofilantjes patterns on sale for 25% off through Thursday morning with the code “pdflove”.

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

