Bow Back Beauty Blog Hop

Welcome to the first day of The Bow Back Beauty Blog Hop!  For the next week several bloggers will be sewing and talking all about this lovely pattern by LittleKiwisCloset.

***I would like to start off mentioning that even though the pattern was offered for participating in the blog tour, I already paid for and owned this pattern on my own before being contacted.  So getting  a free pattern is not influencing my review today.  I was not a tester and am not affiliated with LittleKiwisCloset***

bowbackbeauty1The title of the pattern is actually a little deceiving.  It is incredible how many options are included in this pattern…half of which have no bow backs.  You have two choices for the back of the pattern.  There is the bow back and also a plain back as well.  Both options have a lapped neckline.  There are two waist lengths, a dropped and a regular.  You can make it a top by using a single or double peplum.  You can make a dress with either a full circle or a high low hem.  And finally, you can even make onesies!  Directions for a skirted or plain onesie is included.  For all of the above you can chose sleeveless, short sleeve, and long sleeves.  And as if that wasn’t enough, the size range extends from 0-3m all the way up to 12 yr.  Talk about a pattern you can get a lot of use out of!

bowbackbeauty2For my youngest daughter I went with a bow back, dropped waist peplum top hemmed short sleeves.  I used medium weight knit cotton lycra for my set.  My daughter is exactly the measurements for a size 4, so that is what I made with no adjustments to the pattern.

The pattern is a little overwhelming at first with all the options to chose from.  I highly recommend reading through it entirely before you hit the print button.  With lots of options come lots of pages to print.  The pattern designer has included a great printing guide to save you some paper and ink by only printing the pages you have to!

The pattern printed out easily and fit together well.  I print in black and white and did have to count and cut slowly in certain areas of the pattern where the lines were very close together.  The sizes are all color coded and are all solid lines, so they all appeared the same.  Each line is labeled in at least 1 place on each pattern piece which was very helpful!

bowbackbeauty3The pattern did not take a lot of fabric, which is always a bonus.  Perfect for using my expensive custom print knit fabric on.  I used less than 1 yard of the print and scraps for the solids.

The directions were very clear to follow.  There were a few techniques that were unfamiliar to me, but were very simple do to the clear instructions.  She uses photos for all the steps.  I liked the binding technique that was used in the pattern.  It is so much easier than the traditional way and gave me such a nice finish!  I was also nervous about the lapped neck.  The pattern pieces are clearly marked as to where the overlap occurs so I had zero issues.  All the pieces fit perfectly together while sewing the top.

The only thing I would do differently next time would probably be to add a little length to the sleeves for a wider hem than the pattern calls for.  Fiddling with a 3/8″ hem was a little frustrating for me!

I really enjoyed all the options available with this pattern.  My oldest daughter, who isn’t much into dresses anymore, decided she would like the bow back top as just a plain shirt with no peplum.  I am also excited to finally have a nice basic onesie pattern that I can use for both boys and girls.  I still can’t believe I never owned one before!

The pattern is available here on LittleKiwisCloset’s Craftsy page.  Be sure check out the rest of the blogs on the tour this week and check out the giveaway linked below!

blog image BBB blog hop (1)

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom clothing for me and my family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bow Back Beauty Blog Hop

  1. Meriel A says:

    Love the princess fabric on your princess! Too cute.

Leave a Reply

