The Tandy Tunic and Dress by Modkid

100_2941Today Modkid has officially released the Tandy Tunic and Dress pattern.  This pattern is designed for knit fabrics.  Both have a cute cross over neck yoke, with a loose fitting body.  The dress and tunic have the same top, the dress just adds a long gathered ruffle skirt to the bottom for an easy wearing drop waist look.  I was a tester for this pattern and sewed a size 4 dress.

Printing the pattern is very easy.  Modkid has very clean lines to print out and are easy to follow when you print in black and white as I do.  You don’t have to tape a giant grid of pages together…you simply cut out the pieces as you go and tape them together that way.  Everything fit together with ease.  The bottom ruffle skirt for the dress does not have pattern pieces, you are given measurements.

100_2943I was able to squeeze out a size 4 using one yard of fabric for the sleeves, body, and ruffle skirt.  I used scraps for the yoke.  My fabric was a medium weight cotton lycra knit I purchased in a CO-OP.

All the pieces fit together perfectly while sewing it together.  I was able to sew this dress up in no time for my daughter.  The pattern calls for decorative buttons to be sewn on the cross over of the yoke.  I chose instead to install functional snaps.  We do not have to open the snaps to pull it on and off, but if we did ever need to the option is there.

The sizing for this top is really spot on.  My daughter’s measurements put her into the size 4.  It fits her exactly as the pattern calls, even the length.  I had to make no adjustments at all to the pattern as I made it.

100_2945Overall, I really love this tunic.  When I originally just saw the line drawings I had mixed feelings about it, but after sewing it up I just fell in love with it.  My oldest daughter has already requested a tunic from this pattern.  I think this pattern will be perfect for summer with capri leggings under it.

For the first time Modkid is offer a Flash Sale on the release of the pattern.  For the next 24 hours you can get the pattern for half off!  So hurry and get your copy today for only $5!

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom clothing for me and my family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

