Bluezette dress by Love Notions

bluezette1I was very excited to see the early drawings of this pattern released.  It is exactly the style my oldest daughter seems to be gravitating these days.  Luckily I got to test out this lovely pattern.  There are several options available to make so many different looks with this pattern.  First and most obvious are the skirt options.  There is a regular shorter length gathered skirt, a wrapped tulip style skirt and a hi/low skirt.  There are 3 sleeve options: sleeveless, short sleeve and 3/4 sleeves.  The bodice calls for knit fabric.  The bodice is lined as well as the skirt, so you can use all those fun sheer fabrics you see out right now!  This pattern is sized 2T through 16.bluezette2

Of course, as is the case with all of the Love Notions Patterns I have sewn, printing and taping the pattern together is a breeze.  There are size layer options for this pattern, so you only need to print out the cutting lines for the size you need.  She also has a lovely printing chart, so you only need to print out the skirt pieces you need as well.  This is a great paper saving option!

Once I had all my pieces cut, the dress went together very quickly.  I made the size 8 dress with the high/low hem and 3/4 length sleeves.  I used navy interlock for the bodice, navy jet set knit for the bodice and skirt lining, and a fun novelty knit for the outer skirt.  All the fabric came from Joann’s.

bluezette3The bodice of the dress is fully lined.  I almost jumped for joy when I saw directions for under stitching the neckline of this dress!  This is the first time I have used a PDF pattern that used this method.  The neckline looks so professional with the lining and under stitching.  The sleeves fit the armscye perfectly with no easing necessary.  I chose to use elastic to gather the outer skirt, which really helped to speed up the construction process.  This dress was complete from cutting to hemming in about 2 hours.

Overall, I couldn’t be more pleased with the finished product.  This is just the style my older daughter has been looking for.  The first thing she said when she saw the pattern was “now you have a pattern for all the cool fabric you never let me get!” I can’t wait until the snow melts and we can make some fun, cute dresses for this spring using some of the other options available with this pattern.

Right now you can get the Bluezette Dress for 20% off with the code “bluezette” through Saturday at the Love Notions website.

**I am an affiliate of Love Notions Patterns**

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

