Freestlye Harem Pants by EYMM

Ok, I will be the first to admit I was really unsure about these pants when I applied to test.  I was imagining bad “Hammer Pants” from the 90’s.  I am so glad I went ahead and tried these out.  100_2762 The Freestyle Harem Pants, Capris, and Shorts by EYMM are sized NB-18.  There are two different waist bands to chose from, the plain and an angled one.  You can also chose fabric cuffs, elastic, or traditional hem for the bottom of the pants.  The pants are very loose in the legs and crotch allowing you to use knits or woven fabrics.  The front of the waistband is flat and the back has rows of elastic.

I made a size 8 for my oldest daughter.  She was in need of pants for dance class.  We went with the elastic at the ankles and the plain waist band.  I used medium weight cotton lycra from Purple Seamstress for the legs of the pants and grey knit ribbing for the waistband.  I was able to cut out the pants from a yard of knit and used about a quarter yard of ribbing.

The pattern pieces printed out easily.  I was able to use the layers feature and only print her size.  The pages are no trim, so taping it all together went really quick.  There is100_2775 no side seam on the pants so you are only cutting out 3 pieces, the pants, the front waistband and the back.  The pattern is full of photographs depicting each step.  The pattern is clearly marked for the front pleats.

The construction was pretty straight forward.  If you have made pants before you will have no problems sewing these up quick.  The pleats are clearly marked, but if you are not familiar with sewing pleats you might want to closely follow the pattern.  The pleats will fold out away from the center of the pants.  I was happy to see that the waist band fit the pants perfectly…no stretching or easing necessary.

Overall, I am very pleased with my daughter’s pants.  She has worn these several times now to dance class.  They are perfect for her to throw on over her leotard.  The elastic in the ankles makes it easy for her to remove them with her dance shoes on if she gets hot.  Her dance instructors actually asked where she got them the first time she wore them.  They wanted to use them for their hip hop classes!  These are definitely much cuter than I imagined and definitely not your Mama’s Hammer Pants!

100_2774The Freestyle Harem Pants are part of the Girl’s Bundle Up Sale from Jan 23rd-Feb 2nd.  Stop by Pattern Revolution and check out more reviews and see the other patterns being offered during the sale!

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom clothing for me and my family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

