Knot Your Average Shirt and Dress by 5 Out of 4 Patterns

This is the first pattern to be released by 5 out of 4 Patterns.  Knot Your Average has both a nursing and non nursing option for the bodice.  It also has a dress option.  As a tester for this pattern, I can attest to the fact that this pattern has thoroughly been tested.  The time and attention she put into this pattern really shines in the final product.100_2769

Originally, I was drawn to this testing call because I had made a knot pattern several years ago.  It was a Simplicity pattern.  All Simplicity patterns are designed to fit a large B cup…which I am definitely not.  The unusual pattern pieces completely stumped me on how to attempt a small bust adjustment.  So the top really didn’t fit me and ended up in the box for the church clothing drive.

As you can imagine, taking on a top with a unique bust is a challenge…then throw in nursing mom’s who have an ever changing bust size…and you can imagine the challenge here!  5 Out of 4 Patterns handled this challenge very well.  Not only are you cutting your size by your chest measurement, you are also cutting the pattern top based on your cup size.  When you scroll through the tester photos you see a top that fits and flatters thin flat chested women, plus size women, nursing women and even pregnant women!

The pattern pieces are digitally drafted in Illustrator.  The layers feature is available so you only have to print your size.  All the pages fit together well and I was quickly able to have all my pattern pieces ready to go.  I made the size XS, long sleeve, non-nursing version of the top.  I was able to cut all my pieces out of a yard and a half cut of ITY knit.100_2770

Before you sew this top I highly recommend reading over the instructions all the way through before you start.  The knot portion of the top is not difficult…it is just different.  The photos in the pattern are clear and will guide you through this step…but I needed to read over it a few times just to make sure.  I would rather read it again than pick out stitches…lol!

As I mentioned, I used ITY knit for this top.  I think that drapey, thinner knits are going to give you the best look in this top.  Going with a knit that has a lot of weight to it is going to really make the knot in the center bulky.

Overall, I think that she did a great job on releasing her first pattern!  This pattern fits and flatters all body types.  I am very happy with my top.  Fit is spot on with no alterations.  You can pick up this pattern today on Craftsy.

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom clothing for me and my family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

