Extraordinary Girl By Filles a Maman – Women’s pattern

In my last post I reviewed the children’s edition of the Extraordinary Girl pattern by Filles a Maman.  I was a tester for that pattern.  I was so impressed by that pattern I chose to purchase the women’s edition for myself.  My daughter has worn her top several times now and has actually asked for another one in different colors because she finds it so comfortable.  So, today I was finally able to finish up this top!

100_2788

For my top I chose Navy blue and Medium Pink cotton lycra from Purple Seamstress.  I used 2 yards, one for each color.  I did not need then entire width of the yard, but the sleeves and the back piece were very long and required the length.  I made a size small, but traced out to a Medium in the hips.  That is just a personal preference for me…I hate tops to be snug in the hips.100_2790

Just as with the children’s edition, the pattern pieces printed and fit together perfectly.  I was able to use layers and only print the size I needed.  The directions are full of clear computer generated diagrams.  I find these illustrations so much more clear than photos of the steps.

This top went together in about 30 minutes for me.  It really helped that I had made the children’s version, so I was familiar with the neck binding technique.  The construction is really very simple.  There are very clear markings for where to overlap the neckline.  I used a simple zig zag hem on the sleeves and top.  I am confident the little bit of stretch I have on the shoulders and the chest will flatten out after I wash it.  I was so excited to finish it I rushed to take photos this afternoon while it was still light outside!

Overall, I think that this is a wonderful pattern.  It is well written and drafted and is unique to the other patterns I own.  I love the extra length at the back of the top.  I think this is going to be a great top to sew again for the summer to pair with shorts.  If you are just starting out with knits or an old pro, I highly recommend trying out this pattern.

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

