The Ashley Skirt and Top by Funktional Threads

100_2726

This is not a new pattern to me.  It has actually been in my collection for quite awhile.  It was always my go to pattern when we lived in FL.  My girls lived in knit skorts.  This pattern is quick and simple.  I had sort of put it aside once we moved up here.  Last week I was faced with a yard of knit terry…with no stretch…that my youngest would not leave the fabric store without.  I then remembered that this skirt would be perfect to wear with leggings this winter.  And so the outfit began!

The Ashley patterns are actually two separate patterns that Funktional Threads released together in the summer of 2013.  The top has several different sleeve options from sleeveless, short, and 3/4.  You can add a frill ruffle to the 3/4 length or add rows of little euro ruffles to the short sleeves.  There is even an option for a ruffle around the neckband!  The skirt includes two lengths and the waist is a yoga waist band…no elastic!  You can do a full circle skirt, a 6 paneled skirt or a cool pinwheel skirt.  There is also a shorts pattern that comes in two lengths as well.  You can either wear the shorts alone or combine them into a skort.  So many options!

For this winter set I extended the sleeves to be long sleeve.  This was really simple.  I just followed the side of the sleeve down to where it was as long as her other shirts are.  I chose to use the ruffle around the neck band.  The skirt is the full circle skirt with no shorts.  To add a little to the shirt I simple cut out a few of the hearts from the terry material and appliqued them onto the top.  This outfit only too 1 hour from start to finish.  I was even able to use of some scraps for the tee shirt.  A definite win!

100_1598

Here is my oldest in one of her skorts and tops.  This shows the pinwheel option for the skirt and the euro ruffles on the sleeves.  This skirt does have the shorts under it.  It was perfect for playing outside in the summer!  Looking at the two pictures you wouldn’t even think it was using the same pattern!  So many options, lots of sizes, you just can’t go wrong with this bundle.

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

