Secret Garden Coat by Foo Foo Threads

100_2472

A few weeks ago I completed these Secret Garden Coats for my girls.  I let both of them pick their own colors and materials for their coats.  My youngest’s coat is made exactly as the pattern calls, while we went a little less girly and ruffly for my 9 year old’s coat.

100_2463 100_2462 100_2461

My youngest daughter went straight for the hot pink!  The outer fabric is hot pink Kaufman 21 wale corduroy.  The lining is an oatmeal faux sherpa.  This jacket is just so sweet on her.  The bodice ruffles extend all the way over the shoulder.  The ruffles on the hood are nice and full but short, so not too over the top or in the way.  The waist tie bothers her so I keep it tied in the back.  I went up one size since the sherpa was rather thick and it fits her perfectly.

100_2467 100_2469 100_2468

For big sister’s coat we tried to make it a little more grown up.  Instead of the bodice ruffles I inserted a flat piping of a cotton zebra print.  I also eliminated the hood ruffles.  Her exterior is a Kaufman 21 wale corduroy in peacock blue.  The lining is a soft zebra minky.  She also chooses to keep her waist ties tied in the back.  I really love this coat on her

Even though you might think this pattern is difficult I promise you it is actually not!  I was able to sew both of these on a Saturday afternoon.  This is one of those projects that I am just so proud of.  Every time the girls wear these out we have at least one person ask where we got them from.  What a great feeling to tell them I made them!

So, if you have been searching for a cute coat pattern for your girls this winter I highly recommend taking a look at this one, you won’t be disappointed!

***I was not a tester for this pattern and I am not paid in any way by this designer.  I am just a happy customer who paid for and tried out a new pattern!***

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

