Rylee Dress by AddieK

A few weeks ago I was able to test the Rylee Dress pattern by AddieK.  This dress is so cute and practical for my girls.  They have worn it as soon as it has come out of the laundry each week.  My oldest has been wearing hers over jeggings to school and my youngest has been pairing hers with leggings and boots.  The dress washes and wears so easy.100_2387

The pattern is sized from 2-12.  The dresses I tested were size 8 and 4 and were true to size for my girls.  My dresses have the contrast front, but you can also sew this pattern plain.  The plain uses only one fabric and is cut in one piece with no seams.  You can chose from short sleeves or bracelet length sleeves.  There are even optional pockets to insert into the side seams!

One of the cool things about this pattern are the pattern pieces.  The sleeves and skirt are all one piece!  This is such a perfect dress for beginners who might be intimidated by easing in sleeves.  This also makes for a super quick sew.  Once you cut the pieces you pretty much will just have to sew up the tops of the sleeves to the neck and then down the bottom of the sleeves to the bottom of the skirt…hem and you are done!

I used a very stable interlock knit for my dresses.  This made hemming the neckband much easier.  If I were to use a lycra knit I might be tempted to use a neckband instead of fighting with a hem.

The directions for this pattern are excellent.  The designer has included lots of information on sewing with knits.  Diagrams have been included for each step and are easy to follow.  The pattern prints out easy and fits together perfectly.

I was very pleased with how my dresses came out.  My girls love them.  They say they are very comfy to wear.  I like them because they were simple dresses that are easy to care for.  I also like this style for my girls.  It is classic and modest for school when paired with leggings.  Both girls have already requested a second one with patterned fabric.

This pattern is available for an intro price of only $5 through Sunday.  After that the regular price will be $8.95.  So head over to AddieK Patterns and pick up your copy today!

100_2388 100_2389

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

