The Everyday Play Dress by Love Notions Patterns

Today was my youngest daughter’s first day of PreK!  Of course she needed a special outfit to mark the occasion.  As I was searching through my fabric and pattern stash I just couldn’t find exactly what I was looking for.  I wanted something classic, comfortable and something quick since I only had one afternoon to make it!  Finally, someone suggested The Everyday Play Dress pattern by Love Notions.

100_2424

This sweet little dress is made from cotton lycra knit.  The pink solid fabric is from Purple Seamstress and the yellow dot from Eurogirls.  The embroidery design is from Planet Applique and the leggings are from Ellie Inspired.

This pattern has two sleeve lengths (short and long) and two bodice options (plain and cross over).  I loved this dress so much when it was done I dug up some scraps and tried the cross over version too!

100_2421

This was my first experience with using a Love Notions pattern.  The pattern pieces printed out very nicely and it was easy to follow the size markings.  I appreciated the small number of pieces to print and tape out!.  The dress is a breeze to sew up, I mean these were both cut and sewn in one afternoon!  There are excellent photos depicting each step.  If you have been weary of sewing with knits then I highly recommend trying this pattern.

This style of dress is how I like my girls to dress, it is modest and age appropriate.  The length is below the knee and the necklines are high.  The sizing was true to size for us.  Pair it with leggings and it is great for school!  I see many more of these in the near future.

***I was not a tester for this pattern.  I am just a happy customer who paid for and tried out a new pattern!***

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom boutique clothing for her two daughters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

