Laurel Dress by Greenstyle Creations

The first time I saw the pictures for this pattern posted online I knew I was going to be making one.  This dress was easy to sew and extremely comfortable to wear.  It took me a few days to photograph it because it was in the wash!100_2399

The pattern is by Greenstyle Creations.  This is the first time I have sewn one of their patterns.  I also purchased the children’s version called the Laurelette that I will be making soon for the girls.  I went with the long sleeves, just above the knee length and made the flat skirt for the back.  There are several sleeve and skirt lengths to chose from in the pattern.  You can also chose to do a flat or pleated back skirt as well.  I figured I already had enough bulk in the back without pleats!

The pattern pieces printed out easily and all the pieces fit together well.  The sizes were clearly marked and it was easy to follow my size to cut out the pieces.  The directions are full of clear photos depicting each step along the way.  The dress was very simple to sew, only taking about an hour.  This would make the perfect beginner project for someone wanting to jump into sewing for themselves.

The only thing I wish the pattern had was a chart for fabric requirements.  They just give general measurements saying it could take up to 3 1/2 yards for the long sleeves in the longer length.  I purchased 2 1/2 yards for my dress and still only used 1 1/2 yards for the size small.  Next time I will measure out my pieces before I order fabric so I don’t have extras.

Overall this is a great pattern that I highly recommend.  I love the cowl neckline and think the pleats are so much more flattering on most women than gathering is.  It is an easy sew and even easier to wear.  I already have plans for another one and one for my girls as well.

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom clothing for me and my family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Laurel Dress by Greenstyle Creations

  1. Anne says:

    Could you tell me what kind of knit fabric you used?

Leave a Reply

