Melanie Dress by Modkid

In the summer of 2013 I was actually asked to test the Melanie dress by Modkid.  It was such a fun experience.  I was sent the softest, and colorful fabric to use from her Michael Miller line of knits.  I tested for both girls sizes and they are even pictured on the pattern.

1004693_10101080963682214_1534917715_n

Now fast forward to this past week.  We no longer live in the land of endless summer with palm tress in the front yard.  As we were packing up the summer clothes and bringing out the winter items my oldest pulled out this dress.  She asked, “Can you put long sleeves on this one?  It is one of my most comfy dresses”.  Then a light bulb went off in my head that, yes, this pattern does have a long sleeve option!  So to the fabric cabinet we went.

First I printed off all the pieces for the size 4 and the size 8/9.  The pattern pieces go together perfectly and are clearly marked.  There are only 6 pieces to this pattern.  The size range of the pattern is 2-10.  There is also an adult version as well which you can purchase separately.  There are 3 sleeve options in the pattern, short, elbow and long, which really allows you to use this pattern year round.

I was able to sew this up in just a few short hours.  The only thing I varied from the pattern was the neckline.  I chose to use a neckband instead of simply hemming the neckline.  To do this I first cut away 1/2″ around the entire neckline.  I then measured the opening and multiplied this number by 0.80.  This gives you 80% of the opening’s length.  I then added 1″ to this for a seam allowance and cut the neckband 2″ high by that number in length.  I think I prefer this method and will do it this way again next time.

Oh, and there will for sure be a next time…cat fabric is already on the way from Purple Seamstress!

100_2342

The superhero fabric is from Funkalicious Fabrics on etsy.  Last I checked they still had some.  Solids are from Purpleseamstress.

About Boutique Birdie

A stay at home mom who enjoys sewing custom clothing for me and my family
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

